COVID-19 التحديث: حتى مع بدء تخفيف القيود التي تفرضها COVID-19، فإننا نواصل استخدام التكنولوجيا في تقديم خدماتنا والتواصل معك، دون انقطاع. قراءة بيان COVID-19 لدينا وآخر ما يصل التواريخ. اتصل بنا.
فهم الأسس

فهم الأسس

دليل مفيد

نشر:
سبتمبر 10, 2018

مقدمه

عندما نسمع كلمة "مؤسسة" نميل إلى التفكير في ذلك في مصطلحها العام حيث يمكن استخدامها لوصف أي منظمة للإشارة إلى أن لديها أغراض خيرية. ومع ذلك، قد يكون هيكلها القانوني شركة أو ثقة أو حتى شراكة. وكمثال على ذلك، فإن مؤسسة كارنيغي هي شركة تأسست في نيويورك، ومؤسسة بيل ومليسا غيتس هي مؤسسة خيرية أنشئت في ولاية واشنطن، وفي جزر كايمان، تشكل المؤسسات الخاصة نوعا من الشركات.

ما هي المؤسسة الخاصة؟

ويقصد من المؤسسات الخاصة الحفاظ على الأصول العائلية التي تم الحصول عليها بالفعل، وفي العديد من الولايات القضائية، بما في ذلك جيرسي، يحظر عليها المشاركة مباشرة في أنشطة تجارية ما لم تكن تلك الأنشطة عرضية لـ تحقيق أهدافها. ويمكن أن تكون هذه الأشياء خيرية أو غير خيرية أو كليهما، وقد تفيد شخصاً أو فئة من الأشخاص و/أو تُنشأ لغرض محدد.  بمجرد تأسيس مؤسسة تصبح مستقلة عن مؤسسها ولها شخصيتها القانونية الخاصة.

وخلافاً للشركة التي لا يوجد فيها أي من المؤسسات الخاصة ما يعادل المشتركين أو حملة الأسهم، وعلى عكس الصندوق الاستئماني، لا يكون للمستفيدين مصلحة عادلة في أصول المؤسسة.  

ولكل ولاية قضائية قانونخاص خاص بها بشأن المؤسسات الخاصة، وعلى الرغم من وجود أوجه تشابه عند النظر في إنشاء مؤسسة، فإن قانون الولاية القضائية المختارة يجب أن يُستعرض بالتفصيل نظرا لوجود اختلافات بينهما.  

وفي معظم الولايات القضائية، لا يوفر القانون سوى التسهيلات اللازمة لإنشاء مؤسسة خاصة، والوثائق الدستورية (الميثاق واللوائح) هي التي تتضمن الأحكام الخاصة التي يشترطها المؤسس. وهذا يسمح لمركبة مرنة ومتعددة للغاية أن يتم إنشاؤها لتناسب الاحتياجات المحددة للفرد.

والمطلوب من الصياغة المهنية الدقيقة لهذه الوثائق لضمان أن تكون رغبات المؤسس واضحة وأن يفهم المجلس تماما نوايا المؤسس.

النقاط التالية توضح على وجه التحديد ما هي المؤسسات الخاصة جيرسي التي يحكمها قانون المؤسسات (جيرسي) 2009 الحاجة إلى التأكد من مطابقتها لـ:

شرح مصطلحات المؤسسة

المؤسس:

وكيل ة أو محامي ولا يشترط أن تُمنح المؤسسة أصولا عند بدئها، ولا يصبح مقدم أي إضافات مستقبلية للأصول مؤسسا.

الشخص المؤهل:

شخص مسجل بموجب قانون الخدمات المالية (جيرسي) لعام 1998 للقيام بالأعمال التجارية الاستئمانية الذي يقدم طلبا إلى المسجل لتأسيس مؤسسة.    

الوصي:

ويجوز للولي أن يتقاسم مع مجلس المؤسسة مسؤولية السيطرة على المؤسسة ويجب أن يتصرف بحسن نية ويحقق المصالح الفضلى للمستفيدين. عموما الدور هو الإشراف لضمان المجلس التأسيسي اتباع متطلبات الميثاق واللوائح. يمكن أن يكون المؤسس أيضا الوصي.

المستفيدين:

ويجوز أن تكون أهداف المؤسسة هي إفادة شخص أو فئة من الأشخاص، أو يجوز أن تنص اللوائح على التعيين التقديري من قبل مجلس المؤسسة. ولا يكون للمستفيد مصلحة في أصول المؤسسة إلا إذا وزعت حتى إذا حددت الوثائق الدستورية المستفيد بالاسم واستحقاقه. ولا يحق للمستفيدين تلقي المعلومات ما لم توفر وثائق المؤسسة خلاف ذلك. وإذا أصبح المستفيد مستحقاً بموجب الميثاق أو اللوائح ولم يتم تقديم الاستحقاق، يجوز للمستفيد أن يلتمس أمراً من المحكمة الملكية يأمر المؤسسة بمنح الاستحقاق. يمكن أن يكون المؤسس مستفيداً.

مجلس المؤسسة:

يجب أن يتكون المجلس من عضو واحد أو أكثر (أفراد أو هيئات اعتبارية) واحد منهم يجب أن يكون شخصا مؤهلا (العضو المؤهل). وله سلطات إدارية مماثلة لصلاحيات مجلس إدارة شركة ما. ويدين أعضاء المجلس بواجبهم الائتماني للمؤسسة نفسها. يمكن أن يكون المؤسس عضوا في مجلس المؤسسة.

الميثاق:

الميثاق هو وثيقة عامة. وهو يحدد الاسم، والأشياء التي أنشئت من أجلها (والتي قد تكون خيرية أو غير خيرية أو كليهما)، وتفاصيل عن كيفية منحه، وتفاصيل عن الانتهاء منه إذا كان معروفا.  وقد تحتوي على معلومات إضافية بشأن المستفيدين وغرضها، ولكن من أجل الحفاظ على السرية، يمكنها بدلا من ذلك أن تشير إلى اللوائح.  

اللائحة:

هذه الوثيقة خاصة ومكافئة للمواد الخاصة بالشركة. ويجب أن تنشئ اللوائح المجلس لإدارة الأصول وتحدد كيفية اتخاذ القرارات.

لماذا تستخدم مؤسسة؟

والمرونة التي تتمتع بها المؤسسة الخاصة والحماية التي يمكن أن توفرها ضد المطالبات الخارجية تمثل مزايا متميزة على الثقة التقليدية. وفيما يلي بعض الاستخدامات الرئيسية لمؤسسة:

  1. أداة حيازة عامة للأصول القيمة، بما في ذلك الأوراق المالية المتداولة، والأسهم في الأعمال التجارية العائلية، والعقارات المستأجرة؛
  2. الاحتفاظ بأصول لتجنب مطالبات الورثة القسرية؛
  3. حماية الأصول؛
  4. (أ) أن يتصرف كمُحدد أو وصي على صندوق استئماني، أو أن يكون بديلاً عن شركة استئمانية خاصة؛
  5. الغرض الخيري.

وفي سياق الشركات، توفر المؤسسة العديد من الإمكانيات المثيرة للاهتمام، كما أن مجموعة من خيارات الهيكلة التي يتعين التحقيق فيها واسعة النطاق. يمكن للشركات والمؤسسات من ولايات قضائية أخرى الهجرة والتحويل إلى مؤسسة جيرسي.

مؤسسات في دبي

وقد نفذ مركز دبي المالي الدولي قانون تأسيسي في عام 2018 يوفر بديلاً للعملاء الذين يتعاملون مع الشركات العائلية وغيرها من الأصول في الشرق الأوسط. مؤسسة مركز التمويل الدولي لديها عمر غير محدود ويجب أن تكون مسجلة لدى مسجل الشركات في مركز مركز التمويل الدولي. وتشمل وثائقها الدستورية ميثاق المؤسسة وقوانينها الداخلية (إذا صدرت). على الرغم من أن المؤسسة يجب أن يكون لها مكتب مسجل في مركز مركز مدينة في جميع الأوقات، قد يتم إدارتها الفعلية في مكان آخر. وعلى الرغم من تشابه هاك الولايات القضائية الأخرى، فإن بعض السمات التي تميز نظام مؤسسة مركز مركز الأمم المتحدة المالي المالي الدولي فريدة من نوعها. ويتضمن القانون أحكاما استثنائية لحماية الأصول وجدار الحماية لحماية الأصول من الورثة القسرية أو مطالبات الدائنين استنادا إلى القانون الأجنبي، ما دام التصرف في الأصول صالحا بموجب قوانين مركز المملكة المتحدة المالي ّ ریف. ويجوز لها أن تصدر أوراقا مالية، بما في ذلك إيصالات الإيداع المتعلقة بأصول المؤسسة.

المؤلف
S
S
Jane Hayes
المدير المساعد - الملاحة البحرية والطيران
مقالات أخرى
مثلث ابيض
مثلث ابيض

مزيد من المعلومات؟

فيدوتشي هو مزود منظم للثقة وخدمات الشركة ، التالي خبرائها قادرون علي مساعدتك في جميع جوانب ضمان الامتثال المستمر في المشهد المتغير المستمر. في فيدوتشي نتخذ نهجا عمليا لضمان حماية مصالحكم ، سواء كانت شخصيه أو تجاريه. وبسبب هذا ، فاننا لا نطبق منهجيه "مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع" ، بل العكس. ستقوم الفرق التي يقودها مديرنا بتقييم احتياجاتك لضمان ان ناخذ في الاعتبار جميع الاحتياجات الخاصة بك وتوفير الخدمة التي تحتاجها حسب الطلب

لمعرفه المزيد عن المؤسسات ، اتصل بفريق الثروة الخاصة علي : + 44 1534 755155.

بدلا من ذلك ، يمكنك ان ترسل لنا رسالة أدناه
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
يتم توفير المحتوى في هذه المقالة للحصول على معلومات عامة فقط وليس المقصود منه أن يرقى إلى مستوى المشورة التي يجب أن تعتمد عليها. انظر إخلاء المسؤولية الكامل هنا.

Understanding Foundations

Helpful guide

September 10, 2018

Introduction

When we hear the word ‘foundation’ we tend to think of it in its general term where it may be used to describe any organisation to indicate it has charitable purposes. However, its legal structure may be a company, a trust or even a partnership. As an example, The Carnegie Foundation is a corporation incorporated in New York, the Bill & Melissa Gates Foundation is a charitable trust set up in the State of Washington, and in the Cayman Islands, private foundations are a type of company.

What is a private foundation?

Private foundations are intended to preserve family assets which have already been acquired, and in many jurisdictions, including Jersey, they are prohibited from engaging directly in commercial trading activities unless those activities are incidental to the attainment of its objects. The objects may be charitable, non-charitable or both, and may benefit a person or class of persons and/or be set up for a specific purpose.  As soon as a foundation is established it becomes independent from its founder and has its own legal personality.

Unlike a company a private foundation has no equivalent to subscribers or shareholders and, unlike a trust, beneficiaries have no equitable interest in the foundation’s assets.  

Each jurisdiction has its own law on private foundations and, although similarities exist when considering setting up a foundation the law of the chosen jurisdiction must be reviewed in detail as there are differences between them.  

In most jurisdictions, the law merely provides the facility for setting up a private foundation, and it is the constitutional documents (the charter and regulations) that contain the particular provisions required by the founder. This allows for an extremely versatile and flexible vehicle to be created to suit the specific needs of an individual.

Careful professional drafting of these documents is required to ensure the founder’s wishes are clear and that the council fully understand the founder’s intentions.

The following points explain specifically what Jersey private foundations governed by the Foundations (Jersey) Law 2009 need to ensure they conform to:

Foundation terminology explained

The Founder:

Heir agent or lawyer. There is no requirement for the foundation to be endowed with assets when it is initiated, and the provider of any future additions of assets does not become a founder.

Qualified Person:

A person registered under the Financial Services (Jersey) Law 1998 to carry on a trust business who applies to the Registrar for incorporation of a foundation.    

Guardian:

The guardian may share with the foundation council the responsibility for the control of the foundation and they must act in good faith and the best interests of the beneficiaries. Overall the role is supervisory to ensure the foundation council follow the requirements of the charter and regulations. The founder can also be the guardian.

Beneficiaries:

The objects of a foundation may be to benefit a person or class of persons, or the regulations may prescribe for discretionary appointment by the foundation council. A beneficiary has no interest in the foundation’s assets until they are distributed even if the constitutional documents specify the beneficiary by name and his entitlement. Beneficiaries are not entitled to receive information unless the foundation documents provide otherwise. If a beneficiary becomes entitled to a benefit under the charter or the regulations and the benefit is not provided, the beneficiary may seek an order of the Royal Court ordering the foundation to give the benefit. A founder can be a beneficiary.

Foundation Council:

The council must consist of one or more members (individuals or corporate bodies) one of which must be a qualified person (the qualified member). It has powers of management similar to the powers of a board of directors of a company. The members of the Council owe their fiduciary duty to the foundation itself. The founder can be a member of the foundation council.

The Charter:

The charter is a public document. It specifies the name, the objects for which it has been established (which may be charitable, non-charitable or both), details of how it will be endowed, and details of it's winding up if known.  It may contain further information regarding beneficiaries and purpose but to preserve confidentiality, it may instead refer to the regulations.  

The Regulations:

This document is private and is the equivalent of a company’s articles of association. The regulations must establish the council to administer the assets and set out how decisions are to be made.

Why use a Foundation?

The flexibility of a private foundation and the protection it can provide against external claims represent distinct advantages over a traditional trust. The following are some of the principal uses of a foundation:

  1. A general holding vehicle for valuable assets, including traded securities, shares in family businesses and rental property;
  2. To hold assets to avoid forced heirship claims;
  3. Asset protection;
  4. To act as settlor or trustee of a trust, or be a substitute for a private trust company;
  5. Charitable purpose.

In a corporate context, a foundation offers many interesting possibilities, and the range of structuring options to be investigated is extensive. Companies and foundations from other jurisdictions can migrate and convert to a Jersey foundation.

Foundations in Dubai

The Dubai International Finance Centre implemented a Foundation Law in 2018 providing an alternative for clients with family businesses and other assets in the Middle East. A DIFC foundation has an unlimited lifespan and must be registered with the DIFC Registrar of Companies. Its constitutional documents comprise the foundation charter and its by-laws (if issued). Although the foundation must have a registered office in the DIFC at all times, its actual administration may take place elsewhere. Although similar to other jurisdictions, a couple of features are unique to the DIFC foundation regime. The law contains exceptional asset-protection and firewall provisions to safeguard assets from forced heirship or creditor claims based on foreign law, as long as the disposition of the assets was valid under DIFC laws. It may issue securities, including depositary receipts concerning the assets of the foundation.

Author(s)
Jane Hayes
Jane Hayes
Associate Director - Yachts
white triangle
Other articles
Article Image

Middle East Family - Passing the Business & Power Down to the Next Generation

Middle Eastern entrepreneurs from the 60’s & 70’s should think about how they wish their legacy business to continue in the future?

Based on research conducted in November of last year by Hubbis, in conjunction with Jersey Finance, there is an estimated USD 1 trillion due to be passed down in the next decade from older Middle Eastern patriarchs and matriarchs to the younger generation.

Published:
September 4, 2019
white triangle
Article Image

Understanding Trusts

8 commonly asked questions about Trusts and how they work

Clients are often advised to set up trusts as part of their wealth planning arrangements but for some, an offshore trust may hold a certain mystique. The purpose of this article is to explain some of the basics in establishing a trust together with the potential benefits that may be available.

Published:
July 19, 2018
white triangle
Article Image

2020 Vision

Can we see the future so clearly?

We're six weeks into 2020 and Brexit has happened. So now what do Jersey Financial Services and it's clients need to consider? It's time to look ahead to the rest of 2020 (and beyond) and consider what changes are on the horizon. However, whether anyone can truly do so with the clarity of 20/20 vision is questionable. What we do know is that the world in which our clients and we operate in continues to be one of uncertainty.

Published:
January 31, 2020
white triangle
white triangle

More information?

Fiduchi is a regulated provider of trust and company services, and therefore its experts are able to assist you in all aspects of ensuring continued compliance in the constant changing landscape. At Fiduchi we take a pragmatic approach to ensure your interests, whether personal or business, are safeguarded. Because of this, we don’t apply a ‘one size fits all’ methodology, rather the contrary. Our director led teams will assess your needs to ensure we take into consideration all your requirements and provide the bespoke service you require.

To find out more about Foundations, call our Private Wealth team on: +44 1534 755155.

Alternatively, you can send us a message us below:
white triangle
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
white triangle
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
white triangle
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
white triangle
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
white triangle
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.