COVID-19 التحديث: حتى مع بدء تخفيف القيود التي تفرضها COVID-19، فإننا نواصل استخدام التكنولوجيا في تقديم خدماتنا والتواصل معك، دون انقطاع. قراءة بيان COVID-19 لدينا وآخر ما يصل التواريخ. اتصل بنا.
عائلة الشرق الأوسط - نقل الأعمال والسلطة وصولا ً إلى الجيل القادم

عائلة الشرق الأوسط - نقل الأعمال والسلطة وصولا ً إلى الجيل القادم

يجب على رواد الأعمال في الشرق الأوسط من الستينات والسبعينات أن يفكروا في كيفية رغبتهم في استمرار أعمالهم القديمة في المستقبل؟

نشر:
أيلول / سبتمبر 4, 2019

واستناداً إلى البحوث التي أجراها في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من العام الماضي هوبيس*، بالتعاون مع جيرسي فاينانس، هناك ما يقدر بتريليون دولار أمريكي من المقرر أن يتم تمريرها في العقد المقبل من كبار البطاركة والأم في الشرق الأوسط إلى الجيل الأصغر سناً. وإلى جانب ذلك، حددت دراسة PwC الشرق الأوسط للأعمال العائلية لعام 2019** الشركات العائلية في الشرق الأوسط على أنها تفوق تاريخياً أداء نظيراتها العالمية من حيث نمو الإيرادات، ولكن هذا الاتجاه قد يتغير.

لقد حان الوقت لرواد الأعمال في الشرق الأوسط فيالستينات والسبعينات للتوقف والتفكير في كيفية رغبتهم في استمرار أعمالهم القديمة في المستقبل؟

ليس فقط من الضروري النظر في مخاوف المؤسس فيما يتعلق ببقاء الأعمال التجارية على المدى الطويل، ولكن من المهم أيضا النظر في قدرات ورغبات الجيل القادم الذي قد يتولى الأعمال التجارية العائلية في المستقبل.

الملكية والحوكمة

إن إدارة الشركات والأسرة آخذة في التطور باستمرار، وقد تم النظر فيها على نطاق أوسع في السنوات الأخيرة مع رغبة أسر أصحاب المشاريع في تجنب أن تصبح أسرة "قميص إلى أكمام قميص" ولكن بدلا ً من ذلك أن تكون في السيطرة على إرثها. وفي حين أن الحكم بالمعنى القديم يمكن أن ينظر إليه على أنه جديد نسبيا، فإن بعض الأسر قد طورت بوضوح مهارة كبيرة في ضمان استمرار أعمالها الأسرية لقرون، تاركة إرثا هاما ومستمرا. على سبيل المثال:

للنظر في الأعمال التجارية العائلية، نحن بحاجة إلى النظر في من هو المعني. في حين أننا قد نفكر أساسا حول السيطرة تتحرك إلى أسفل عبر الأجيال، وهناك في الواقع العديد من أصحاب المصلحة المهتمين التي تتأثر الأعمال التجارية. على سبيل المثال:

وينبغي مناقشة ملكية وإدارة الأعمال التجارية الأسرية والاتفاق عليها قبل وقت كاف من الحاجة إلى نقل السلطة إلى الجيل القادم. وينبغي للأسرة، سواء عن طريق التجمع الرسمي أو بصورة غير رسمية على العشاء، أن تضع سياسات تحكم القضايا التي تكون فيها مصالح الأسرة ومصالح تعارض الأعمال التجارية أو تتداخل بينها

وفيما يلي بعض المجالات التي ينبغي تغطيتها:

ما هي سياسة التوظيف والأجور لأفراد الأسرة العاملة؟

هل ستكون العائلة أولاً أم العمل أولاً؟ اعتمادا على كيفية النظر في هذا، ما سيكون له تأثير على الثقافة داخل الأعمال التجارية؟ أيضا، كيف سوف الموظفين من غير الأسرة تسعى جاهدة لتطوير حياتهم المهنية داخل الأعمال التجارية؟

قد تكون بعض الأسئلة الأساسية للأسرة:

ما هي سياسة توزيع الأرباح للمساهمين؟

ويجب السعي إلى تحقيق توازن بين مجموعات الأجور السخية التي قد لا تترك سوى القليل من الأرباح لتوزيعها على حملة الأسهم والأجور البائسة، مما يترك أرباحا كبيرة لتمويل أرباح سخية. ومن الواضح أن لهذا أثرا كبيرا عند النظر في ما إذا كان ينبغي للمالكين العمل في الأعمال التجارية أم لا

والجانب الآخر الذي يعود إليه ذلك هو ما إذا كان ينظر إلى الملكية على أنها "قيمة" أو "احتجاز". وسوف تبحث قيمة الملكية عن عائد السوق وتتوقع أرباحا حتى عندما تكون الأرباح منخفضة والتدفق النقدي ضعيف. ومع ذلك، فإن أمناء الأمناء راضون عن أي أرباح يمكن أن تتحملها الشركة، ويصرون في كثير من الأحيان على الاحتفاظ بمستوى معين من الأرباح والتدفق النقدي لبناء احتياطي وإعادة الاستثمار في الأنشطة التجارية

ما هي السياسة التي تحكم إدارة ومراقبة الأعمال والإشراف والإشراف؟

وفي حين أنه قد يكون هناك توازن تقليدي في القوى، فمن المرجح أن يرغب المالكون في حجز سلطات لمراقبة المسائل التي تمثل خطرا ماليا كبيرا أو خطرا على السمعة.  

ومن خلال مناقشة هذه المجالات ووجود طريق واضح للمضي قدما، سيساعد ذلك على خلق نقاش عادل بين أفراد الأسرة وتوفير طريقة واضحة للمضي قدما لكل من الراغبين في أن يكونوا جزءا من الأعمال التجارية في المستقبل وأولئك الذين يرغبون في اتباع مسار مختلف.

مصادر:

*https://hubbis.com/news/high-net-worth-individual-wealth-declines-after-seven-consecutive-years-of-growth

**https://www.pwc.com/m1/en/publications/documents/family-business-survey-2019.pdf

المؤلف
S
S
Christopher Dungan
المدير الإقليمي-الشرق الأوسط
مقالات أخرى
مثلث ابيض
مثلث ابيض

كيف يمكن فيدوتشي تعليمات؟

باعتبارنا شركة خدمات ائتمانية مستقلة يديرها المالكون، مع مجلس إدارة يتمتع بخبرة عالية، يمكننا المساعدة في توجيه الأسر التي تنظر في وجهات نظرها على المدى الطويل حول الأعمال العائلية. يمكننا أن نلتقي مع الأسر وندعم النقاش حول الحوكمة للأعمال العائلية وبعد ذلك بناء حل مفصل يناسب احتياجات كل أسرة.

ونحن نشهد عددا متزايدا من الشركات العائلية يتم تسويتها في هياكل الثقة أو الأساس. وهذا يساعد على الانتقال السلس للأعمال التجارية عبر الأجيال، بدلا من الاعتماد على الأجيال المقبلة "التخمين" ما أراد المؤسس. اعتمادا على الهيكل وضعت في مكان، فيدوتشي قد تكون قادرة أيضا على توفير رقابة مستقلة على الأعمال التجارية دون الحاجة إلى المشاركة في الأنشطة اليومية، وبالتالي توفير انتقال أكثر سلاسة.

وأخيراً، نظراً فيدوتشي موقفك كشركة ثقة مستقلة في جيرسي لها وجود دائم في الشرق الأوسط، ونحن ندرك وحساسين لقضايا إقليمية وثقافية محددة، مثل الآثار القانونية المحيطة بالحصول على أصول دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وغير دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي على حد سواء عن طريق الدولية المركبات، فضلا عن الفروق الدقيقة حول الميراث والآثار الإرث للأسر في الشرق الأوسط.

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مساعدة في تخطيط تعاقب الأعمال العائلية في الشرق الأوسط، لا تترددوا في الاتصال بمديرنا الإقليمي Christopher Dungan على: +971 52 957 8301.

بدلا من ذلك ، يمكنك ان ترسل لنا رسالة أدناه
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
شكرا! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطا اثناء إرسال النموذج
يتم توفير المحتوى في هذه المقالة للحصول على معلومات عامة فقط وليس المقصود منه أن يرقى إلى مستوى المشورة التي يجب أن تعتمد عليها. انظر إخلاء المسؤولية الكامل هنا.

Middle East Family - Passing the Business & Power Down to the Next Generation

Middle Eastern entrepreneurs from the 60’s & 70’s should think about how they wish their legacy business to continue in the future?

September 4, 2019

Based on research conducted in November of last year by Hubbis*, in conjunction with Jersey Finance, there is an estimated USD 1 trillion due to be passed down in the next decade from older Middle Eastern patriarchs and matriarchs to the younger generation. Alongside this, the PwC Middle East Family Business Survey 2019** identified Middle East family businesses as historically outperforming their global peers in terms of revenue growth, but that trend may be shifting.

Is it time for Middle Eastern entrepreneurs of the 60’s & 70’s to stop and think about how they wish their legacy business to continue in the future?

Not only is it necessary to consider the concerns of the founder regarding the long-term survival of the business, but it is also relevant to consider the capabilities and desires of the next generation who might take over the family business in the future.

Ownership and Governance

Corporate and family governance is ever-evolving and has been more widely considered in recent years with entrepreneurial families wanting to avoid becoming a “shirtsleeves to shirtsleeves” family but instead to be in control of their legacy. While governance in the sense of legacy may be seen as relatively new, some families have clearly developed a great skill in ensuring their family business lasts for centuries, leaving a significant and continuing legacy. For example:

To consider the family business, we need to look at who is involved. Whilst we may think principally about control moving down through generations, there are in fact many interested stakeholders that are affected by the business. For example:

The ownership and governance of the family business should be discussed and agreed upon well in advance of the need to shift power to the next generation. The family, whether through formal assembly or informally over dinner, should establish policies to govern issues where interests of the family and the interests of the business conflict or overlap.

Some of the areas that should be covered are:

What is the employment and remuneration policy for working family members?

Will it be family first or business first? Depending on how this is considered, what will the effect be on the culture within the business? Also, how will non-family employees strive to develop their careers within the business?

Some basic questions for the family may be:

What is the dividend policy for shareholders?

A balance must be sought between generous remuneration packages which may leave little profit to distribute to shareholders and miserly remuneration, leaving significant profits to fund generous dividends. This clearly has a considerable impact when considering if owners should work in the business or not.

The other aspect this comes back to is whether the view of ownership is seen as “value-out” or “custodial”. Value out ownership will be looking for a market yield and expect dividends even when profits are low and cash-flow poor. However, custodians are content with whatever dividend the business can afford, often insisting that a certain level of profits and cash flow be retained to build a reserve and re-invest in the business activities.

What is the policy governing management and control of the business, supervision and oversight?

Whilst there may be a traditional balance of power, it is likely owners may wish to reserve powers to control matters which represent a significant financial or reputational risk.  

By discussing these areas and having a clear way forward, it will help with generating fair discussion between family members and provide a clear way forward for those both wishing to be part of the business in the future and those who want to follow a different path.

Sources:

*https://hubbis.com/news/high-net-worth-individual-wealth-declines-after-seven-consecutive-years-of-growth

**https://www.pwc.com/m1/en/publications/documents/family-business-survey-2019.pdf

Author(s)
Christopher Dungan
Christopher Dungan
Regional Director - Middle East
white triangle
Other articles
Article Image

UK Tax Changes and their impact on UK Real Estate Structures

Briefing note

The UK’s November 2017 Budget announced a number of proposals that will affect the taxation of inward investment into UK real estate.

Published:
January 2, 2018
white triangle
Article Image

Understanding Jersey Private Funds (JPFs)

Briefing Note

A Jersey Private Fund ("JPF") is a simple and highly flexible fund product that will be of interest to promoters who are looking to launch funds for groups of investors where a fully-regulated product might not be necessary or appropriate.

Published:
April 20, 2018
white triangle
Article Image

Understanding Foundations

Helpful guide

Does a Foundation always have a charitable purpose? What are its uses? and what should you consider before deciding if it is right for you? This article explains some of the commonly asked questions.

Published:
September 10, 2018
white triangle
white triangle

How can Fiduchi help?

As an independent owner-managed fiduciary services business, with a highly experienced board of directors, we can assist with guiding families who are considering their long-term views on the family business. We can meet with the families and support discussion around the governance for the family business and thereafter build a bespoke solution fitting the needs to each family.

We are seeing a growing number of family businesses being settled into trust or foundation structures. This helps with a smooth transition of the business through the generations, rather than relying on the future generations “guessing” what the founder wanted. Depending on the structure put in place, Fiduchi may also be able to provide independent oversight of the business without a need to be involved with the day to day activities, thereby providing for an even smoother transition.

Finally, given Fiduchi’s position as an independent Jersey trust company with a permanent presence in the Middle East, we are aware and sensitive to specific regional and cultural issues, such as the legal implications surrounding holding both GCC and non-GCC assets via international vehicles, as well as the nuances around inheritance and heirship implications for families in the Middle East.

If you require assistance with family business succession planning in the Middle East, please do not hesitate to contact our Regional Director Christopher Dungan on: +971 52 957 8301.

Alternatively, you can send us a message us below:
white triangle
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.